The Tower Base and Nave
St John’s is built on sloping ground, so we climb several steps, beneath the tower, noticing the considerable thickness of the tower wall through which we enter, and passing four stone Benefactions and Charity plaques on the north side. These records of the gifts of generous people for the benefit of the poor are well worth pausing to read. The square of lead with the names of the churchwardens in 1755 was preserved from the roof when it was renewed.
St John’s has a bright, vibrant, colourful and well-proportioned interior; it feels homely and lived-in and the recent re-ordering has made it flexible and adaptable. Four of the Kauri Pine benches from the 1873 restoration have been retained along the walls of the nave and aisles and timber from other benches has been used in the kitchenette, altar table and AV desk.